ACADEMY OF MUSIC AND DRAMATIC ARTS

MEYZIEU

Project: Construction of the academy of music and dramatic arts in Meyzieu
Program: Classrooms and rehearsal studios, 200 seats auditorium, reception and management areas
Project team: PARC Architectes (Representative) — Batiserf Ingénieries (Structure) — Nicolas Ingénieries (Fluids & Environment ) — Peutz & Associés (Acoustic) — Praxys (Landscape) — F.Casanova (Scenography) — Axe Ingenierie (Construction management) — BMF (Economy)
Client: City of Meyzieu
Status: Preliminary Design

A TIME TO STOP

The Meyzieu Conservatory of Music and Dramatic Art settles in the landscape of Greater Lyon like a monolith raised on its four angles. It is a large mineral screen stretched over seventy meters which creates a forecourt in front of the tram stop. Both massive and light, the project takes place between the ground and the sky and plays with the sun. Under the uplifting of its northern facade, a transparency lets glimpse a bright patio and a garden in the background. It is an invitation to walk through the doors of the conservatory, a desire to discover one's heart, the staging of which in Meyzieu station square suggests intensity through light. With this heady figure like a refrain, it is the first stone of a cultural pole dedicated to music that takes shape. In the future, the conservatory could extend its influence to the department and even to the region by offering theater and dance lessons.

 

A COURSE OPEN TO THE SKY

The project is a mineral volume which ensures the acoustic quality of the equipment. The mass isolates the rooms from outside noise and in turn protects the neighborhood. The building takes place on a sandblasted concrete square punctuated by trees. It is like a thicket in which there is a clearing.

The facade of the conservatory being oriented to the north, it is through a patio that the sun enters the heart of the building to form a courtyard protected from street noise. Open to the sky, the courtyard is a privileged place to meet, meet, exchange, wait or organize shows.

The route around the central void distributes the entire conservatory. The auditorium is positioned at the salient corner of the building, the contemporary music room is located in front of the forecourt, the administration is located in the middle and upstairs are the work rooms and the space of conviviality. The conservatory courtyard cuts out a piece of the Majolan sky to make it a unique place in municipal cultural life.

 

AN ATMOSPHERE OF LIGHT

Light is the essential material of the architectural project. The forecourt being against the light, the light slides under the facade. It also crosses the large concrete veil through holes which display the name of the conservatory. The sun which enters the heart of the building through the cut in the roof projects onto the square a disc of light. When you pass under the entrance arch, you enter the clarity of the patio. The gaze embraces the organization of the conservatory and escapes by transparency to the garden to the south. We then circulate in front of the reception around the courtyard and climb with a spiral staircase to the floor where the work rooms are. Designed to promote concentration, these rooms are lit at the top by a soft light from the north. All circulation areas are bathed in natural light. In the evening, the interior light highlights the curves of the conservatory. The lettering in the concrete veil lights up. The bar and patio light up and announce the upcoming show. The tip of the angle between rue de la Gare and rue Lebrun is revealed.

The life of the building is punctuated by the oscillations between the sky lights and shows.

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©Parc Architectes 2018 - Tous droits réservés

CONSERVATOIRE DE MUSIQUE ET D’ART DRAMATIQUE

MEYZIEU

Opération : Construction du conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique de Meyzieu
Programme : Auditorium de 200 places, salles de formation musicale et d’enseigement dramatique, espaces d’accueil et administrations
Maîtrise d'oeuvre : PARC Architectes (Mandataire) — Batiserf Ingénieries (Structure) — Nicolas Ingénieries (Fluides & Environnement) — Atelier FCS (Scénographie) — Peutz & Associés (Acoustique) — Praxys (Paysage) — Axe Ingéniérie (OPC) — BMF (Economiste)
Maîtrise d'ouvrage : Ville de Meyzieu
Phase: Avant-projet définitif (APD)

UN TEMPS D'ARRET

Le conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique de Meyzieu s’installe dans le paysage du Grand Lyon comme un monolithe soulevé sur ses quatre angles. C’est un grand écran minéral tendu sur soixante-dix mètres qui institue un parvis devant l’arrêt du tramway. A la fois massif et léger, le projet prend place entre le sol et le ciel et joue avec le soleil. Sous le soulèvement de sa façade nord, une transparence laisse entrevoir un patio lumineux et un jardin en second plan. C’est une invitation à franchir les portes du conservatoire, un désir de découvrir son cœur dont la mise en scène sur la place de la gare de Meyzieu suggère l’intensité par la lumière. Avec cette figure entêtante comme un refrain, c’est la première pierre d’un pôle culturel dédié à la musique qui se dessine. A l’avenir, le conservatoire pourrait étendre son rayonnement au département et même à la région en proposant des enseignements de théâtre et de danse.

 

UNE COUR OUVERTE SUR LE CIEL

Le projet est un volume minéral qui assure la qualité acoustique de l’équipement. La masse isole les salles des bruits extérieurs et protège en retour le voisinage. L’édifice prend place sur un parvis en béton sablé ponctué d’arbres. Il est comme un bosquet au sein duquel se trouve une clairière.

La façade du conservatoire étant orientée au nord, c’est par un patio que le soleil entre au cœur du bâtiment pour former une cour protégée du bruit de la rue. Ouverte au ciel, la cour constitue un lieu privilégié pour se rencontrer, se retrouver, échanger, attendre ou organiser des spectacles.

Le parcours autour du vide central distribue l’ensemble du conservatoire. L’auditorium est positionné à l’angle saillant du bâtiment, la salle de musique contemporaine est située en face du parvis, l’administration se trouve dans l’axe médian et à l’étage se répartissent les salles de travail et l’espace de convivialité. La cour du conservatoire découpe un morceau du ciel Majolan pour en faire un lieu unique dans la vie culturelle communale.

UNE ATMOSPHERE DE LUMIERE

La lumière est la matière essentielle du projet architectural. Le parvis étant en contre-jour, la lumière se glisse sous la façade. Elle traverse également le grand voile de béton par des trous qui affichent le nom du conservatoire. Le soleil qui entre au cœur de l’édifice par la découpe du toit projette sur la place un disque de lumière.  Lorsque l’on passe sous l’arche d’entrée, on pénètre dans la clarté du patio. Le regard embrasse l’organisation du conservatoire et s’échappe par transparence jusqu’au jardin au sud. On circule ensuite devant l’accueil autour de la cour et l’on grimpe avec un escalier en colimaçon à l’étage où se trouvent les salles de travail. Conçues pour favoriser la concentration, ces salles sont éclairées en partie haute par une lumière douce du nord. Toutes les circulations sont baignées de lumière naturelle. Le soir c’est la lumière intérieure qui souligne les courbes du conservatoire. Le lettrage dans le voile de béton s’éclaire. Le bar et le patio s’illuminent et annoncent le spectacle à venir. La pointe de l’angle entre la rue de la Gare et la rue Lebrun se révèle.

La vie du bâtiment est rythmée par les oscillations entre les lumières du ciel et des spectacles.

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©Parc Architectes 2018 - Tous droits réservés