HOUSE OF EGYPT 

PARIS - INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY CITY

Project: House of Egypt / Paris, France
Program: Student housing, multipurpose room
Competition team: PARC Architectes (Architect) – Z-Ds (Architect) – EDEIS – Praxys – ZEFCO –ACV – BMF

Client: House of Egypt association
Status: Competition 2019

A UNIQUE SITE

The site of the house of Egypt is exceptional. Located in the university city and on the edge of the peripheral boulevard, the residence will benefit, as rarely in Paris, from an unobstructed view of a park and a panorama facing south. The project makes the most of this singularity of the place with its triangular shape. It minimizes the frontage surface exposed to noise from the device and maximizes its opening on the side of the unobstructed views above the device and towards the sun.

 

OPEN PLAN AS A LANDSCAPE

The building is designed as the superposition of open plan as a landscape. Students from Egypt will discover unusual perspectives on Paris. The open plans offer different situations as you go up the floors. On the ground floor and on the first floor, we take advantage of the gardens. The hall and the great hall open under the purple beech. The student foyer overlooks the west garden. From the third floor, the kitchens offer an autonomous reunion place suspended in the corolla of the big tree and above the ring road. On the fourth and fifth floors, a loggia to the west provides an outdoor location at sunset. Each studio has a large picture window. Inside, the organization is freely adaptable thanks to a set of movable lockers that can be used for storage, seat or shelf.

 

THE SUN

The light and the presence of the sun will be one of the factors that will change the daily life of Egyptian students the most. Circulations were particularly worked so that the light slips into the heart of the building. Three staircases wind up like "the magical stairs of Chambord's Castle" to serve all the floors. At the top of the stairs, a glass roof lets in the sun's rays. One of the three is glazed to allow light to diffuse. Each corridor opens outwards.
To adjust their relationship with light and the sun, tenants can adjust the luminous ambiance of their studio with a rolling shutter made of blue painted wooden slats. This blue was chosen as a color integrated into Egyptian culture. Indeed, the ancient Egyptians are considered to be the inventors of this color. They were the first to have successfully produced and mastered it to make objects, decorations and works of art. Blue also echoes the sky and the water, highlighting the largely glazed facade and its climatic relationship to the atmosphere.

A MYSTERY

The house of Egypt is an intriguing building. Positioned on the edge of the ring road, this installation, which is both unique, technical and acclimatized, responds to neighboring buildings, to the new residence for researchers, to the house of the Avicenna Foundation or to the house of Korea ... Its basic form triangular creates a disturbance in the perception of its facades which appear like large screens on the ring road and on the park of the university city. Its shutters give it a changing appearance depending on the sun, seasons and uses. Finally, the internal complexity of its plan, its staircases and its functional appendages recalls the access systems to the rooms hidden in the pyramids. The architecture of the house of Egypt will assert in Paris a position both ancestral and fully contemporary.

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©Parc Architectes 2018 - Tous droits réservés

MAISON DE L'EGYPTE

PARIS - CITE INTERNATIONALE UNIVERSITAIRE

Opération: Cité Internationale Universitaire de Paris - Construction de la maison d’Égypte

Programme: Résidence étudiante, 
Maîtrise d'œuvre: Parc architectes (Mandataire) – Z-Ds (Architecte) – EDEIS (TCE) – Praxys (Paysage) – ZEFCO (Environnement) – ACV (Acoustique) – BMF (Économiste)
Maîtrise d'ouvrage: Association maison d’Égypte
Phase: Concours 2019

UN SITE D’EXCEPTION

Le site de la maison de l’Égypte est exceptionnel. Positionnée dans la cité universitaire et au bord du boulevard périphérique, la résidence profitera, comme rarement à Paris, d’une vue dégagée sur un parc et sur un panorama orienté plein sud.
Le projet exploite au maximum cette singularité du lieu avec sa forme triangulaire. Il minimise la surface de façade exposée au bruit du périphérique et maximise son ouverture du côté des vues dégagées au-dessus du périphérique et vers le soleil.

 

DES PLATEAUX PAYSAGES

Le bâtiment est conçu comme la superposition de plateaux de paysages. Les étudiants venus d’Égypte y découvriront des perspectives insolites sur Paris. Les plateaux proposent différentes situations au fur et à mesure que l’on monte dans les étages. Au rez-de-chaussée et au premier étage, on profite des jardins. Le hall et la grande salle s’ouvrent sous le hêtre pourpre. Le foyer des élèves donne sur le jardin ouest. A partir du troisième étage, les cuisines offrent un lieu de retrouvailles autonome et suspendu dans la corolle du grand arbre et au-dessus du périphérique. Au quatrième et au cinquième étage, une loggia à l’ouest permet d’avoir une situation extérieure au soleil du soir.

Chaque studio possède une large baie vitrée. A l’intérieur, l’organisation est librement aménageable grâce à un jeu de casiers déplaçables pouvant servir de rangement, d’assise ou d’étagère.

 

LE SOLEIL

La lumière et la présence du soleil sera un des facteurs qui changera le plus le quotidien des étudiants Égyptiens. Les circulations ont été particulièrement travaillées pour que la lumière se glisse au cœur du bâtiment. Trois escaliers s’enroulent à la manière de « Chambord » pour desservir tous les étages. Au sommet des escaliers, une verrière laisse pénétrer les rayons du soleil. L’un des trois est vitré pour permettre à la lumière de se diffuser. Chaque couloir s’ouvre vers l’extérieur.
Pour moduler leur relation à la lumière et au soleil, les locataires pourront ajuster l’ambiance lumineuse de leur studio grâce un volet roulant en lames de bois peintes en bleu. Ce bleu a été choisi comme une couleur intégrée à la culture Égyptienne. En effet, les anciens égyptiens sont considérés comme les inventeurs de cette couleur. Ce sont les premiers à avoir réussi à la produire et à la maîtriser pour fabriquer des objets, des décorations et des œuvres d’art. Le bleu fait également écho au ciel et à l’eau mettant ainsi en exergue la façade largement vitrée et sa relation climatique à l’atmosphère.

UN MYSTERE

La maison de l’Égypte est un bâtiment intriguant. Positionnée au bord du périphérique cette installation, à la fois singulière, technique et acclimatée répond aux bâtiments voisins, à la nouvelle résidence pour chercheurs, à la maison de la fondation Avicenne ou à de la maison de la Corée... Sa forme à base triangulaire crée un trouble dans la perception de ses façades qui s’affichent comme de grands écrans sur le périphérique et sur le parc de la cité universitaire. Ses volets lui confèrent un aspect changeant en fonction du soleil, des saisons et des usages. Enfin la complexité interne de son plan, de ses escaliers et de ses appendices fonctionnels rappelle les systèmes d’accès aux chambres cachées dans les pyramides.
L’architecture de la maison de l’Égypte affirmera dans Paris une position à la fois ancestrale et pleinement contemporaine.

  • Gris LinkedIn Icône
  • Gris Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©Parc Architectes 2018 - Tous droits réservés